School Site Council

The School Site Council (SSC) is an elected group of teachers, parents, students, and classified employees who work with the principal to develop, review, evaluate and allocate funds for school improvement programs.


The idea behind the creation of SSCs was that those that are most closely involved with the schools and students on a day-to-day basis could often make the best decisions about how schools need to improve. School Site Council operations vary from school to school, but in general, the SSC deals with school policies, plans and budgets.


2022-2023 Meeting Dates and Agendas:


September 21, 2022: Minutes

November 30 , 2023

March 15, 2023

April 26, 2023

May 17, 2023

All meetings will be held virtually on Zoom beginning at 3:00pm.  Please email Christina Banagas-Englerdt at for Zoom information.


2022-2023 School Site Council Members:


Leslie Roach - Principal

Kortney Tambara - Assistant Principal

Leanne Lauritzen - Admin. Assistant to the Principal

Allison Singer - Counselor

Christina Banagas-Engelerdt - Teacher

Steven Plette - Teacher

Laura Tijerino - Teacher

Kefe Fu - Parent

Sean McDowell - Parent

Hulya Odabas - Parent

Laura Wakeham - Parent

Ella Wu - Parent

Ida Ahola - Student

Rachel How - Student

Nika Namiri - Student


In October, 2022, Northwood High School underwent a self-study as part of the accreditation process with Western Association of Schools and Colleges.  Our SSC played a key role in participating in the process, identifying areas of strengths and growth, reviewing the report and monitoring the Action Plan.  As a result, the Visiting Team and WASC Accreditation Commission determined that our school meets the criteria for accreditation and we were granted a six-year accreditation status through June 30, 2029 with a mid-cycle report in the 2025-26 school year.  This is the best term a school can earn. A copy of the full report is available here.


Our SSC also reviews and approves our Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA) each year which is based on our WASC Action Plan.  A copy of this year's SPSA can be found here.